Liberty and Justice host Human Rights Awards

04 December 2007

Director of Liberty, Shami Chakrabarti said:

"2007 has seen extensive attacks upon the Human Rights Act, further erosion of personal privacy and the renewal of the campaign to extend pre-charge detention. Now more than ever we should celebrate those whose dedication to the protection of human rights gives heart to everyone who cares about our British values of fairness and justice."

The awards will be judged by Francesca Klug OBE (LSE centre for the study of Human Rights); Guy Beringer QC (Allen & Overy LLP), Roger Smith (Justice); Shami Chakrabarti (Liberty).

What: Human Rights Awards 2007
When: 6.15 – 10.00 10th December 2007
Where: Old Theatre, Old Building, LSE, Houghton Street, London WC2A 2AE

Contact: Mairi Clare Rodgers on 0207 378 3677 or 0797 383 1128


Shortlisted for the 2007 Human Rights Awards are:

Peter Duffy Award *
for individuals aged 35 or under.

Maya Evans
For her campaigning work and commitment to the cause of liberty. For her courage in standing up for our fundamental rights to peaceful protest and freedom of speech.

Catharina Harby
For her unceasingly approachable, dedicated and meticulous pro bono human rights work.

Sally Middleton
For her professional expertise and outstanding commitment to the cause of detainees’ rights and for her commitment to fighting against the extension of pre-charge detention in terror cases. Human Rights Award

for organisations and non-legal individuals

Asylum Aid
For their tenacious legal work and commitment to supporting the rights of asylum seekers in the United Kingdom.

Kids Company
For their ground-breaking and inspirational work in helping this country’s most disadvantaged children and young people.

For their high-quality specialist casework and for their commitment to providing incontrovertible evidence of the serious human rights abuses of children in custody. Human Rights Lawyer of the Year
for solicitors, barristers, legal executives, trainees, pupils, legal academics and judges

Shaheed Fatima
For her remarkable work, often on a pro bono basis. For her brilliant analysis, consistent arguments and commitment in debating human rights cases before both the British and the European Courts.

Anne-Marie Hutchinson OBE
For her commitment to fighting injustice experienced by women and children. For her tireless work in seeking remedies for victims of forced marriages and abandoned spouses.

Mark Muller QC
For his continued contribution to the promotion of human rights and his commitment to the defence of vulnerable ethnic and minority communities.

* The Peter Duffy Award commemorates the life and achievements of one of the UK's most highly dedicated human rights lawyers. Peter Duffy QC was particularly supportive of younger lawyers, giving freely of his time and skills. An important part of his human rights work was done pro bono for organisations, including Liberty and Justice.